• Warbirds Library V4 (Resources for now) How to

We just posted part one of the how to on uploading new files to the Library. Part 1 covers adding new files. Part 2 will cover making changes to your the uploads you own.

Questions or comments please post them in the regular forums. Which forum is that... Well it is the one you spend the most time in.

Thanks the Staff

Library How to

Joystick Throttle Problem

TARPSBird

SOH-CM-2024
Yesterday the throttle slider on my joystick suddenly went stupid on me. I have a Thrustmaster T-Stick X that's never given me any problems. Now I have no control at all for advance/decrease throttle. Doesn't work in FS9 either. Tried calibrating in both sims, no luck... Throttle calibrating bar doesn't move. Throttle commands work OK using keyboard keys F1-F4 but that method is clumsier than the slider. Any troubleshooting suggestions? I think I may need a new joystick. :(

I did a quick Google search for that stick as I was not familiar with it and can only conclude that you have one of two problems but either one would necessitate taking the base off the stick at the very least and possibly some more dismantling as required. If you are happy and confident about taking things apart and putting them back together I would suggest the following:

1) The contacts on the slide feature could be dirty/oxidized through use/age and need cleaning, There are several options for doing this including cleaning with isopropyl alcohol (rubbing alcohol @ 99% pure) on a cotton bud, using an electronics safe switch cleaner (be careful as the wrong type could melt plastic parts!) or, if you can get to the slide contacts easily, rubbing them with a pencil eraser to wipe off the oxidation/dirt.

2) A wire may have broken from or lost contact with the slide parts. This could require either re-establishing the contact (i.e. disconnecting/re-connecting a push on connector to clean the contacts) or soldering a broken wire back into place.